INDUSTRIAL PROFILE OF SAINT-LAURENT

Located a few minutes from downtown Montreal, Saint-Laurent covers an area of 43 square kilometers, making it Montreal's biggest borough and one of Quebec's key industrial hubs.

 

 

In 2018:

  • 4,540 businesses established in Saint-Laurent
  • 138 new businesses set up in the territory in 2018
  • 109,085 jobsincluding 33,599  manufacturing jobs
  • $1 billion invested in Saint-Laurent by businesses in the industrial and tertiary sectors
  • $715 millioninvested in Saint-Laurent by manufacturers

 

Vital infrastructures

Close to Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau International Airport (Dorval), Saint-Laurent is bordered by highways 13, 15, 20 and 40. Two metro stations, two train stations and 35 bus lines make the borough highly accessible.

 

Economic benefits of synergy

Saint-Laurent is home to three cutting-edge industrial clusters:

  • aerospace,
  • life sciences (health)
  • information and communications technologies (ICT)

 

The dynamic of these business clusters results in increased productivity and the dissemination of knowledge. Consult the Business Directory by business sector to get a sense of the economic strength generated by these concentrations of interconnected businesses.

 

Saint-Laurent firms have high growth potential. In addition, the borough's diversified and cluster-based economy favours synergies between small and large businesses. Subcontracting networks ensure integration of industrial and strategic hubs.

 

A state-of-the-art technology hub

The Saint-Laurent Campus of Technoparc Montréal (TM), formerly Technoparc Saint-Laurent, is located on the territory served by DESTL. With its 20 hectares of land, it is considered the biggest technology park in Canada.

 

TM is dedicated to the development of cutting-edge technology in four key business sectors: aerospace, life sciences, information and communication technologies, and clean technologies.

 

Over the past few years, TM has enjoyed some of the strongest growth in North America. To date, more than $2 billion in investments have been made, resulting in the creation of 6,000 highly skilled jobs, in more than 90 businesses.

 

10 good reasons to invest in Saint-Laurent

 

Discover here the top 10 reasons to invest in Saint-Laurent.

 

History of Saint-Laurent

70% of the territory dedicated to business development

 

In the mid-20th century, Saint-Laurent experienced an industrial boom which, in the space of a few years, saw it become the second largest industrial city in Quebec. Many companies – including large aeronautical firms – set up plants in Saint-Laurent, contributing to its ever-growing economic vitality. In the 1950s, it was home to some 40 businesses.

 

Marcel Laurin was elected mayor in 1959; he would remain in office until 1990. He was instrumental in making Saint-Laurent the second largest industrial hub in Quebec, devoting 70% of its territory to industrial development. His accomplishments include the building of the first metro station in Saint-Laurent and the creation of a high-technology mega-complex, the Technoparc Saint-Laurent, in addition to award-winning residential developments. All just a few minutes from downtown Montreal.

 

In 1970, Saint-Laurent, the second largest industrial city in Quebec, was home to more than 400 companies. The borough still holds this distinction, with more than 70% of its territory dedicated to business development. Its renowned industrial park boasts a first-class technology centre, Technoparc Montréal.

 

* indicates required
Langue/Language *
Warning
Error
Ok

LE PORTRAIT INDUSTRIEL DE SAINT-LAURENT

Situé à quelques minutes du centre-ville de Montréal, Saint-Laurent couvre une superficie de 43 kilomètres carrés, ce qui en fait le premier arrondissement en superficie à Montréal et l’un des principaux pôles industriels du Québec.

 

En 2018 :

  • 4 540 entreprises établies à Saint-Laurent
  • 138 nouvelles entreprises installées sur le terrioire en 2018
  • 109 085 emplois dont 33 599 emplois manufacturiers
  • 1 000 000 000 $ investis à Saint-Laurent par les entreprises des secteurs industriels et du tertiaire-moteur
  • 715 000 000 $ investis à Saint-Laurent par les manufacturiers

 

Des infrastructures indispensables

À proximité de l’aéroport international Pierre-Elliott-Trudeau (Dorval), Saint-Laurent s’entoure des autoroutes 13, 15, 20 et 40. Deux stations de métro, deux gares de train et 35 lignes d’autobus rendent l’arrondissement accessible.

 

Les avantages économiques de la synergie

Saint-Laurent accueille trois grappes industrielles de pointe :

  • l’aéronautique,
  • les sciences de la vie (santé)  
  • les technologies de l’information et des télécommunications (TIC)

 

La dynamique de ces concentrations d’entreprises se traduit par une productivité accrue et une diffusion du savoir. Consultez le Répertoire des entreprises par secteur d’activités pour constater la puissance économique d’une telle proximité.

 

Les entreprises de Saint-Laurent bénéficient d’un fort potentiel de croissance. De plus, l’économie diversifiée et polarisée du territoire favorise les synergies entre les PME et les grandes entreprises. Des réseaux de sous-traitance assurent l’intégration des pôles industriels et stratégiques.

 

Un pôle technologique d’avant-garde

Le campus Saint-Laurent de Technoparc Montréal (TM), anciennement Technoparc Saint-Laurent, est situé sur le territoire desservi par DESTL. Avec ses 20°hectares de terrain, il est considéré comme le plus grand parc technologique au Canada.

 

TM est voué à l’épanouissement de la technologie de pointe dans quatre principaux secteurs : l’aéronautique, les sciences de la vie, les technologies de l’information et des communications, ainsi que les technologies propres.

 

Au cours des dernières années, TM a connu l’une des croissances les plus importantes en Amérique du Nord. À ce jour, près de plus de 2 milliards de dollars d’investissements ont été réalisés, ce qui a entraîné la création de 6 000 emplois hautement spécialisés, dans plus de 90 entreprises.

 

10 bonnes raisons d'investir à Saint-Laurent

Découvrez ici les 10 meilleures raisons d'investir à Saint-Laurent.

 

L'histoire de Saint-Laurent  

70 % du territoire consacré au développement des affaires

 

Au milieu du XXsiècle, Saint-Laurent connaît l'explosion industrielle qui va, en quelques années, la consacrer deuxième ville industrielle du Québec. Les usines qui s’y installent – notamment de grandes entreprises liées à l'aéronautique – lui fournissent une vitalité économique sans cesse croissante. Dans les années 1950, on dénombre une quarantaine d'entreprises.

 

Le maire Marcel Laurin, élu maire en 1959, reste en poste jusqu’en 1990. Il a grandement contribué à faire de Saint-Laurent la deuxième ville industrielle en importance au Québec, en réservant 70 % du territoire au développement industriel. Au nombre de ses réalisations, notons la construction d'une première station de métro à Saint-Laurent et la création d'un mégacomplexe de haute technologie, le Technoparc Saint-Laurent, en plus des développements résidentiels primés. Le tout à quelques minutes du centre-ville de Montréal.

 

En 1970, Saint-Laurent, deuxième ville industrielle du Québec, comptait plus de 400 entreprises. L’arrondissement détient toujours ce titre, alors que plus de 70 % de son territoire est consacré au développement des affaires. Par ailleurs, ce parc industriel reconnu s’enorgueillit d’un centre de haute technologie de premier rang, Technoparc Montréal. 

 

 

ABONNEMENT À NOTRE INFOLETTRE

* indicates required
Langue/Language *
Message
Error
Ok